November 23, 2014

Teaching Excellence Awards Honor 207 Faculty in the Texas A&M System

March 8, 2010
Contact: Rod Davis or Amy Halbert
(979) 458-6023

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M University System today awarded $717,150 [updated] to outstanding faculty throughout the system for the fall 2009 presentation of the Teaching Excellence Awards, a voluntary, student-selected honors program.

The 207 faculty winners will receive checks ranging from $2,500 to $10,000. Three faculty members were awarded $10,000: David Lawhon, honors director and lecturer in general academics at Texas A&M University at Galveston; Anton Hoffman, clinical professor of veterinary integrative biosciences at Texas A&M University; and Rachel Hull, instructional assistant professor of psychology at Texas A&M.

Texas A&M University had the most total recipients, with 87, followed by Texas A&M University-Kingsville, 28; Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, 22; West Texas A&M University, 16; Texas A&M University-Commerce, 14; Texas A&M International University, 13; Prairie View A&M University, 10; Texas A&M University-San Antonio, 6; Tarleton State University, 4; Texas A&M University-Texarkana, 4; and Texas A&M University at Galveston, 3.

The recipients represent the top 20 percent of those who participated in the A&M System program. The top 5 percent are awarded $5,000 to $10,000. The next 15 percent receive $2,500 to $5,000. Awards are based on rankings from evaluations created and administered by students, with weighting for factors such as class size.

The Teaching Excellence Awards were initiated by Chancellor Michael D. McKinney in 2008 to honor and financially reward the system’s top teachers as selected by students. All faculty members who teach at least a 3-hour course are eligible.

“It’s important that we provide a way for our teachers to be recognized for their excellence in the classroom,” said McKinney. “Especially when it’s the students, the ones directly affected by teaching, who have taken the time to nominate those who have affected their lives so positively.”

To date, 433 faculty members in the A&M System have received $1.5 million in excellence awards funds since the program started in 2008.

Winners in the top 5 percent category, by campus are:

Texas A&M: Ludy Benjamin, David Bergbreiter, Dennis Berthold, Norm Clark, Dianne Goldsby, Julie Harlin, Anton Hoffman, Rachel Hull, Jennifer Jones Barbour, Stephen King, Sandi Lampo, Ming-Han Li, Landry Lockett, Veronica Loureiro-Rodriguez, Duncan MacKenzie, Michael Moreno, Eric Petersen, Steven Quiring, Gina Reinhardt, Robert Rolle, and Suojin Wang.

TAMUG: David Lawhon.

PVAMU: Orion Ciftja and Carl Gardiner.

Tarleton: Jeff Breeden, Vicky Johnson, Amy McKay, and James Wood.

TAMIU: Cecilia Gutierrez, Claudia San Miguel and Jerry Thompson.

A&M-Corpus Christi: Alison Frost, Denise Hill, Karen Paciotti, Sharon Polansky, and Ping-Jung Tintera.

Texas A&M-Kingsville: Mario Casa De Calvo, Laura Garza, Michelle Johnson Vela, David Sabrio, Greg Sanders, Cindy Walker-Ewert, and Jaehyung Yu.

WTAMU: Teri Bingham, Elsa Diego-Medrano, Rick Haasl, Neal Latman, Kathy Snider, and Ruby Willey-Rendon.

A&M -Commerce: Augustine Arize, Rhonda Clark, Matthew Elam, Robert Folden, Harry Fullwood, Margaret Garcia, Jim Page, Rebecca Stephens, William Thompson, and Karin Tochkov.

A&M-Texarkana: Doris Davis, William Laird, Myra Loving, and Angela Sikorski.

A&M-San Antonio: Jackie Ferguson.

The full listing of award recipients by institution is in the attached pdf.

About the A&M System
The A&M System is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation, with a budget of $3.2 billion. Through a statewide network of 11 universities, seven state agencies and a comprehensive health science center, the A&M System educates nearly 115,000 students and makes more than 22 million additional educational contacts through service and outreach programs each year. Externally funded research expenditures exceed $730 million and help drive the state’s economy.